What is a Tarot Deck?

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Basics and other Tarot topics.

What is a Tarot Deck?

What is a Tarot Deck?

A Tarot deck consists of 78 cards. These are decorated with symbols, pictures, colors, and numbers. Each card also has a “name," which is associated with its meaning in relation to the deck as a whole and its interpretation.

The cards are divided into two groups: the Minor Arcana or everyday cards, and Major Arcana or life lesson cards. There are 22 Major Arcana cards. The rest are Minor Arcana, but these also have their own specific hierarchy. Each group or 'house' of minor arcana is numbered from 1-10, and each also includes what are generally known as the "Court Cards", consisting of the page, the knight, the Queen and the King.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Tarot Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Jolyn Wells-Moran