September 26, 2008, Newsletter Issue #29: What is a Tarot Deck?

Tip of the Week

A Tarot deck consists of 78 cards.  These are decorated with symbols, pictures, colors, and numbers.  Each card also has a “name," which is associated with its meaning in relation to the deck as a whole and its interpretation. 

The cards are divided into two groups: the Minor Arcana or everyday cards, and Major Arcana or life lesson cards.  There are 22 Major Arcana cards.  The rest are Minor Arcana, but these also have their own specific hierarchy.  Each group or 'house' of minor arcana is numbered from 1-10, and each also includes what are generally known as the "Court Cards", consisting of the page, the knight, the Queen and the King.

About LifeTips

Now one of the top on-line publishers in the world, LifeTips offers tips to millions of monthly visitors. Our mission mission is to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. Expert writers earn dough for what they know. And exclusive sponsors in each niche topic help us make-it-all happen.

Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Tarot Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Sherril Steele-Carlin